Something to Look Forward to…

It’s always nice to have something to look forward to, don’t you think? Even if that something is growing older. You can’t avoid getting older anyway, and, as you’ve no doubt heard, it’s kind of better than the alternative.

The first time I ever really thought I might be growing older was when I went to the mailbox after work one evening and, lo and behold, there was some stuff from AARP. I was so irritated. OMG, I yelled, hurling the AARP crap into the trash. I’m not sure I was even 50 at the time.

A few years later, when I started getting boatloads of offers for senior discounts, I stubbornly passed on all of them. Nope, I definitely wasn’t old enough yet. It took quite a while for me to eventually break down and accept these offers, But, alas, I finally caved.

Today it’s quite a different story. OMG, again, there are so many ways to save. Some days, a senior can get into the movies for nearly half the regular price. There’s practically endless senior discounts at restaurants, as long as you’re not too embarrassed to ask for them.

I’m riding the bus more, and save a bundle just because I’m older. I still prefer to say I’m older rather than old. When you’re older, you can usually save on hotel rooms, of course, and even tickets to many theatrical productions. You can even save sometimes when you buy groceries or get your car serviced.

Many people complain, but Social Security and Medicare greatly soften the blow when all of a sudden your income is fixed and no longer increases. There aren’t many prices going down these days.

And then, if you’re fortunate enough to be able to retire, you don’t have to work nearly as hard. That’s to lazy me such a biggie. You can choose to spend more time doing what you want, like playing with the grandkids, instead of what you have to do. I especially love having the time to volunteer. It’s certainly great to ignore the alarm, or throw it away altogether. Sleeping in and taking a nap in the middle of the day are pretty decadent.

You know, now that I think about it, growing older can be one of life’s greatest rewards. Something to really look forward to. If only there wasn’t that death thing.

Leave a Reply

